How Many T-Shirts Do You Own?: A Guide to Sorority T-Shirts

how_many_more_smallWhen you join a sorority you learn to accept that there is a stereotype attached to it.  And while I will be the first to dispute many of the stereotypes, there is one that just cannot be. By popular belief sorority girls supposedly own many t-shirt related to their sorority or some kind of greek life event.  Well, I have to admit that while many stereotypes are not true, this one is.

Some women in sororities joke about having drawers full of t-shirts by the time that they graduate from college. I decided to put this to the test, and went home to reorganize my clothing just to see how many I have.  And the conclusion to this little reorganization experiment was that my t-shirts take up two full drawers.

So how exactly do we accumulate SO many t-shirts?! Well I did the math, and here is what I came up with.  I used my sorority as an example because I feel like as far as t-shirts go we run in the middle of the road when compared to other chapters.  We don’t order the most on campus, but we certainly order plenty.  Most sororities create a t-shirt for the following: semi-formal/formal, philanthropy events, at least one PR item per semester, and any “sisterhood” events.  For we have created t-shirts for the following events this semester:

  • Crush Semi-Formal T-Shirt
  • Carnation Formal T-Shirt
  • Spring Philanthropy Week 2015 T-Shirt
  • Rock Climbing Sisterhood Event Tank Top
  • Spring 2015 Tank Tops
  • Luau Mixer Tank Top
  • Bid Day Long Sleeve Shirt
  • Spring Family Weekend Long Sleeve Shirt
  • Big Little Reveal 2015 T-Shirt

And those are just the ones we created for our chapter! There are many other events hosted by greek life each semester that often times create their own t-shirt for you to purchase. So when you do out the math and assume that a sorority chapter creates at least nine t-shirts a semester, you could potentially graduate from your sorority with 72 t-shirts. Which is a staggering number! I have to admit that I had no idea just how many t-shirts we create, and buy.

The lesson here that I have learned is, not only do I need to start getting rid of some of the t-shirts that are filling up my drawers, but I also need to start watching just how many of these t-shirts I’m ordering! So be careful and think before you hit the “select a size” button the next time you think about buying a sorority t-shirt ladies.

One thought on “How Many T-Shirts Do You Own?: A Guide to Sorority T-Shirts

  1. Love this post! I am so guilty of ordering too many shirts. I even order some that I don’t necessarily like! Gah! But, there are a few that I am in love with now and would never want to part with. One of the things I am looking forward to after college is making a t-shirt quilt! So, I will probably keep racking up the t-shirts next year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment