Glitter Glitter Everywhere: A Bid Day Attire Analysis

IMG_0462“From the outside looking in you can’t understand it.  From the inside looking out you can’t explain it”

If you log onto Instagram and look through a sorority members pictures, chances are you will see a picture with this caption.  Usually it’s a somewhat sappy photo of a sorority “Big and Little” pair, or a pledge class photo of everyone smiling.  But when I see this quote I think about all of the mystifying, hilariously out there, and very “Pinterest” things that sorority girls do that non-Greek people don’t quite understand.  As a sorority member myself, I feel like I have the right to poke fun at some of the things that sorority girls do.  We do some things that may look weird to any outsider, but when you’re on the inside it seems completely normal.  One aspect of sorority life that we think is normal, but actually isn’t is… BID DAY ATTIRE.  If you are a non-Greek person reading this and don’t know what I mean when I say “Bid Day Attire”, then I dare you to go onto Pinterest right now and look it up.  Do you see it? Are you slightly confused, and definitely puzzled by the large amounts of glitter and feather boas? If you answer yes to both of those questions, then you definitely found what I’m talking about.  Yes, we know we may look ridiculous dressed like this.  No, we don’t care that you think we look ridiculous dressed like this.  With sorority Bid Day rapidly approaching on the High Point campus every sorority member is frantically crafting to make sure that her Bid Day attire is on point.  Not only do you have to come up with accessories that go with your sorority’s Bid Day theme, but most of us (or maybe just me) tend to get competitive when it comes to who did it best.  We get competitive with our sisters and other sororities, but all in the spirit of Panhellenic fun.  From tutus, to face paint we do it all.  Many sorority girls go as far as painting glitter onto their body, which I’m not gonna lie, I’m definitely guilty of doing a time or two.    We view Bid Day as a celebration of sorts.  It symbolizes the last day of Formal Recruitment, and the beginning of a new year for our chapters.  On Bid Day we get to welcome home a new pledge class of girls that we practically fell in love with during recruitment.  We want to give these girls one of the best, most memorable days of their college experience.  So we dress up like this to show how excited we are about them becoming our new sisters.  We do realize it might be way over the top, but it’s one of the few times left in our lives where we get to act like little kids again and dress up in crazy fun costumes.  With my college days starting to fly by faster than I can count them, I’ve learned to not take people’s negative opinions to heart when it comes to being a “sorority girl”.  At the end of the day, we do what makes us happy.  And if dressing up in sequins and boas makes us happy, than we’ll do it.  Even though looking at us from the outside probably makes people question our sanity, looking from the inside we realize just how crazy it is too.  But as long as we’re having fun, we’ll take those outside opinions with a grain of salt and continue on our way.

2 thoughts on “Glitter Glitter Everywhere: A Bid Day Attire Analysis

  1. Sasha–Great first blog post! I love how conversational your writing is and the subject is definitely something that I am interested in, as a fellow sorority girl myself! Bid Day is the best day!! 🙂 I also appreciate how interactive the post is, telling readers to go on pinterest and look things up and even asking them questions about their reactions. That’s a great writing tool that I hope you implement in future posts! I can’t wait to see what other things you write about in the coming weeks. The last note I have is that I really like how you incorporated media into the post using pictures and bold fonts. That is definitely something that I wish to bring into my own blog posts in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment